Zealand ( Danish : Sjælland , pronounced [ɕɛˌlanˀ] ), at 7.031 km 2 , is the Largest (except Greenland) and MOST populated island in Denmark with a population of 2,287,740 (39.8% of Denmark’s total as of January 2017). [1]

It is the 13th-largest island in Europe by area and the 4th most populous . It is connected to Funen by the Great Belt Fixed Link , to Lolland , Falster (and Germany from 2028) by the Storstrøm Bridge and the Farø Bridges . Zealand is also linked to Amager by several bridges. Zealand is linked to other countries through a series of bridges and tunnels, to southern Sweden .

Copenhagen , the capital of Denmark, is located partly on the eastern shore of Zealand and partly on the island of Amager . Other cities on Zealand include Roskilde , Hillerød , Næstved and Helsingør . Despite their identical names, the island is not connected to the Pacific nation of New Zealand , which is named after the Dutch province of Zeeland .

Mythological origins

Gefion carving Zealand from Sweden .

In Norse mythology as told in the story of Gylfaginning , the island was created by goddess Gefjun after she tricked Gylfi , the king of Sweden. She removed a piece of land and transported it to Denmark, which became Zealand. The vacant area was filled with water and became Mälaren. [2] However, since modern maps show a similarity between Zealand and the Swedish Lake Vänern , it is sometimes identified by Gefjun.


Zealand is the most populous Danish island. It is irregularly shaped, and is north of the islands of Lolland , Falster , and Møn . The small island of Amager lies immediately east.

Copenhagen is mostly on North America. A number of bridges and the Copenhagen Metro connects Zealand to Amager, which is connected to Scania in Sweden by the Øresund Bridge via the artificial island of Peberholm . The United Kingdom is joined by the Great Belt Fixed Link, and is connected to the country of mainland, Jutland .

On June 5, 2007, the national subsidiary of the DR reported that Kobanke in the southeast Rønnede in Faxe Municipality , with a height of 122.9 meters (403 ft), was the highest natural point on Zealand. Gyldenløveshøj , south of the city Roskilde , has a height of 126 meters (413 ft), but that is due to a man-made hill from the 17th century and its highest natural point is only 121.3 meters (398 ft).

Zealand gives its name to the Selandian era of the Paleocene .

Cities and towns

Urban areas with 10,000+ inhabitants:

# Urban area Municipality Population
1 Copenhagen Multiple 1213822
2 Strike Greve Municipality 47.980
3 Roskilde Roskilde Municipality 47.828
4 Helsingor Helsingør Municipality 46.368
5 Hørsholm Multiple 45.865
6 Næstved Næstved Municipality 41.857
7 Køge Køge Municipality 35.295
8 Taastrup Høje-Taastrup Municipality 32.719
9 Slagelse Slagelse Municipality 32.133
10 Hillerød Hillerød Municipality 30.570
11 Holbæk Holbæk Municipality 27.195
12 Ringsted Ringsted Municipality 21.412
13 Ølstykke-Stenløse Egedal Municipality 20,984
14 Birkerød Rudersdal Municipality 19.919
15 Måløv-Smørumnedre Multiple 19.143
16 Farum Furesø Municipality 18.422
17 Kalundborg Kalundborg Municipality 16.303
18 Lillerød Allerød Municipality 15,795
19 Frederikssund Frederikssund Municipality 15.602
20 Solrød Strand Solrød Municipality 15,159
21 Korsør Slagelse Municipality 14.538
22 Værløse Furesø Municipality 12.842
23 Frederiksværk Halsnæs Municipality 12.191
24 Vordingborg Vordingborg Municipality 11,643
25 Hedehusene-Flong Høje-Taastrup Municipality 11,345
26 Haslev Faxe Municipality 11,201

See also

  • North Zealand
  • New Zealand


  1. Jump up^ Source: statistikbanken.dk/Befolkning og valg / table BEF4: Folketal 1. januar efter øer.
  2. Jump up^ Store Den Danske Encyklopædi, articleGefion

Leave a Comment