North Jutlandic Island

The North Jutlandic Island ( Danish : Nørrejyske Ø ), Vendsyssel-Thy , or simply Jutland north of the Limfjord ( Jylland north for Limfjorden ) are lesser-used names for the northernmost portion of Denmark and of Jutland . It is more common to Refer to the three traditional districts Vendsyssel , Hanherred and Thy . Jutland by the Limfjord , it is traditionally regarded as a part of Jutland rather than an island.

Geographically, it is the second largest island of Denmark after Zealand (excluding Greenland ) with a population of 296,700 on January 1, 2014. [1]

Danes rarely refers to the area as a whole, but more often to the three constitute districts or to North Jutland (which also includes an area south of the Limfjord). The adjectives nordenfjords and søndenfjords are Commonly used, meaning north and south of the Fjord, respectivement. The names can be considered ad hoc creations, as a traditional name for the island as a geographical unity is lacking.

The North Island Jutlandic Was formerly was tied island , connected to the Jutland Peninsula by the narrow sand tombolo of Agger Tange entre c. 1200 and 1825. The area became an island again on 3 February 1825, when the North Sea broke through the Agger Tange in its far southwest Jutland and creating the Agger Channel. [2] The current separator is the Thyborøn Channel, which was created by the flood in 1862. The original Agger Channel filled with sand in 1877.

The syssel was a medieval sub-division which is regarded as the oldest administrative unity in Denmark, existing since prehistoric times (well before 1000 AD). The North Jutlandic Island is divided into two of these, Thysyssel (including Hanherred) and Vendsyssel.

The North Jutlandic Island is composed of these three traditional regions:

Vendsyssel , the largest part of the east and north,
Thy , the lesser part to the west,
Hanherrederne or Hanherred, the central isthmus connecting Vendsyssel and Thy.
Since 1 January 2007, when the Danish municipal reform took effect, these areas along with Himmerland and the islands of Mors and Læsø have formed the North Jutland Region , being the smallest of Denmark ‘s five regions by population. Ecclesiastically, the North Jutlandic Island is the core of the Diocese of Aalborg .

In the western part of the island, Thy, is considered part of Northern and Western Jutland simultaneously. The term North West Jutland refers to Thy, Mors , and the parts of mainland Jutland bordering the western Limfjord, such as the peninsula of Salling and around the towns of Struer and Lemvig .

Key facts
Area: 4,685 km²
Population: 296,700 (January 1, 2014)
Major towns
Traditional district Town
Nørresundby (the northern part of Aalborg , which is mainly south of the Limfjord)
Thy Thisted
See also
Thy District
Traditional districts of Denmark
List of islands of Denmark
Jump up^ “Danmarks Statistik.” Retrieved 1 September 2014.
Jump up^ Blangstrup, Chr., Ed. (1915). “Aggerkanal ” . Salmonsens Konversationsleksikon (in Danish). 1 (2nd ed.). Copenhagen: JH Schultz Forlagsboghandel. p. 310 . Retrieved April 3, 2013 .
Extract or delete some HTML tag attributes from the desired tags, based on your criteria with the online HTML editor. Other useful features will help you to make web content composing a piece of cake.

Leave a Comment