Franz Josef Land

Franz Josef Land , Franz Joseph Land or Francis Joseph’s Land ( Russian : Земля Франца-Иосифа , tr. Zemlya Frantsa-Iosifa ) is an archipelago , inhabited only by Russian military personal basis [1] Located in the Arctic Ocean , Barents Sea and Kara Sea , constituting the northernmost part of Arkhangelsk Oblast in Russia. It consists of 191 islands, which cover an area of ​​16,134 square kilometers (6,229 sq mi), stretching 375 kilometers (233 mi) from east to west and 234 kilometers (145 mi) from north to south. The islands are categorized in three groups, a western, central and eastern, separated by the British Channel and the Austrian Strait . The central group is further divided into a northern and southern section by the Markham Strait . The largest island is Prince George Land , which measures 2,741 square kilometers (1,058 sq mi), followed by Wilczek Land , Graham Bell Island and Alexandra Land .

Read moreFranz Josef Land

Novaya Zemlya

Novaya Zemlya ( Russian : Новая Земля , IPA: [novəjə zʲɪmlʲa] , lit. new land ), also known as Nova Zembla (especially in Dutch ), is an archipelago in the Arctic Ocean in northern Russia and the extreme northeast of Europe , the easternmost point of Europe lying at Cape Flissingsky on the Northern island. Novaya Zemlya is composed of two islands, the southern Severny Island and the southern Yuzhny Island , which are separated byMatochkin Strait . Administratively , it is incorporated as Novaya Zemlya District , one of the twenty-one in Arkhangelsk Oblast , Russia. [1] Municipally , it is incorporated as Novaya Zemlya Urban Okrug . [2]

Read moreNovaya Zemlya

October Revolution Island

October Revolution Island (Russian: Остров Октябрьской Революции, Ostrov Oktyabrskoy Revolyutsii ) is the largest island of the Severnaya Zemlya group in the Russian Arctic .

The area of ​​this island has been estimated at 14,170 km 2 (5,470 sq mi) making it the 59th largest island in the world . [1] It rises to a height of 965 m (3,166 ft) on Mount Karpinsky . Half the island is covered with glaciers reaching down into the sea. In the sections free from ice, the vegetation is desert or tundra .

Read moreOctober Revolution Island

Severnaya Zemlya

Severnaya Zemlya (Russian: Северная Земля (Northern Land), pronounced [sʲevʲɪrnəjə zʲɪmlʲa] ) is a 37,000-square-kilometer (14,286-square-mile) archipelago in the Russian High Arctic . It lies off Siberia ‘s Taymyr Peninsula , separated from the mainland by the Vilkitsky Strait . This archipelago separates two marginal seas of the Arctic Ocean, the Kara Sea in the west and the Laptev Sea in the east.

Read moreSevernaya Zemlya

Schmidt Island

Schmidt Island ( Russian : Остров Шмидта ) is part of the Severnaya Zemlya group in the Russian Arctic and was named after Otto Schmidt , chief scientist and chief of the Northern Sea Route . It is located at the far northwestern end of the archipelago and lies slightly south of the Arctic Cape on Komsomolets Island.

Read moreSchmidt Island

Jan Mayen

Jan Mayen is a Norwegian volcanic island located in the Arctic Ocean . It is 55 km (34 mi) long (southwest) and 373 km 2 (144 sq mi) in area, partly covered by glaciers (an area of ​​114.2 km (71.0 mi) around the Beerenberg volcano ). Dubious – the Chat ] It has two parts: larger Northeast North-Jan and smaller Sør-Jan, linked by a 2.5 km (1.6 mi) wide isthmus . It lies 600 km (370 mi) northeast of Iceland (495 km (305 mi) NE of Kolbeinsey ), 500 km (310 mi) east of central Greenlandand 1,000 km (620 mi) west of the North Cape, Norway . The island is mountainous, the highest summit being the Beerenberg volcano in the north. The Sørlaguna (South Lagoon), and Nordlaguna (North Lagoon) are two of the largest islands in the island . A third lake is called Ullerenglaguna (Ullereng Lagoon). Jan Mayen was formed by the Jan Mayen hotspot .

Read moreJan Mayen


Svalbard ( sv pronunciationlbɑː , svɑl- / ; [3]) [Translation ] [ pronunciation: [sʋɑ (ː) lbɑːɾ] ; prior to 1925 known by its Dutch name Spitsbergen , meaning “jagged mountains”) is a Norwegian archipelago in the Arctic Ocean . Situated north of mainland Europe, it is about midway between continental Norway and the North Pole . The islands of the group range from 74 ° to 81 ° north latitude, and from 10 ° to 35 ° east longitude. The largest island is Spitsbergen , followed byNordaustlandet and Edgeøya . Administratively, the archipelago is not part of any Norwegian county , but forms an unincorporated area governed by a governor appointed by the Norwegian government. Since 2002 Svalbard’s main settlement, Longyearbyen , HAS Review: had an Elected local government , Somewhat similar to mainland Municipalities . Other activities include the Russian mining community of Barentsburg , the research station of Ny-Ålesund , and the mining outpost of Sveagruva. Ny-Ålesund is the northernmost settlement in the world with a permanent civilian population. Other settlements are farther north, but are populated only by rotating groups of researchers.

Read moreSvalbard