Iceland ( / aɪ s l ə n d / ( listen )  ; Icelandic : Ísland pronounced [istlant] ) [7] is a Nordic island country of Europe Located in the North Atlantic Ocean . It has a population of 332,529 and an area of ​​103,000 km 2 (40,000 sq mi), making it the most sparsely populated country in Europe. [8] The capital and largest city is Reykjavík. Reykjavík and the surrounding areas in the southwest of the country are home to over two-thirds of the population.

Read moreiceland


Greenland ( Greenlandic : Kalaallit Nunaat , pronounced [kalaːɬit nunaːt] ; Danish : Grønland , pronounced [ɡʁɶnˌlanˀ] ) is an autonomous country within the Kingdom of Denmarkbetween the Arctic and Atlantic Oceans, east of the Canadian Arctic Archipelago . Though physiographically a part of the continent of North America , Greenland has been politically and culturally associated with Europe (specifically Norway and Denmark, the colonial powers, As well as the nearby island of Iceland ) for more than a millennium. [9] The majority of its residents are Inuit , whose ancestors began migrating from the United States in the 13th century, and gradually settling across the island.

Read moreGreenland

Faroe Islands

The Faroe Islands ( / f ɛər oʊ / ; Faroese : Føroyar pronounced [fœɹjaɹ] ; Danish : Færøerne , pronounced [fæɐ̯øːˀɐnə] ), sometimes called Expired the Faeroe Islands , are an archipelago entre les Norwegian Sea and the North Atlantic , about halfway entre Norway and Iceland , 320 kilometers (200 miles) north-northwest of Scotland . The islands are an autonomous countrywithin the Kingdom of Denmark . [6] [7] [8] Their area is about 1,400 square kilometers (541 square miles) with a population of 50,322 in October 2017. [3]

Read moreFaroe Islands

Canary Islands

The Canary Islands ( / k ə n ɛər i aɪ the ə n d z / ; Spanish : Las Islas Canarias pronounced [izlas kanaɾjas] , locally [iɦlːah kanaːɾjah] ) Also Known As The Canary Islands ( Spanish: Las Canarias ), are an archipelago and autonomous community of Spain Located on the Atlantic Ocean , 100 kilometers (62 miles) west ofMorocco at the closest. The Canaries are among the outermost regions (OMR) of the European Union proper. It est aussi one of the eight regions with special consideration of historical nationality Recognized As Such by the Spanish Government . [3] [4]

Read moreCanary Islands


Madeira ( / m ə d ɪər ə – of ɛər ə / mə- DEER -ə , – DAIR -ə ; Portuguese: [mɐðejɾɐ, -ðɐj-] ) is a Portuguese archipelago Situated in the north Atlantic Ocean , southwest of Portugal. Its total population was estimated in 2011 at 267,785. The capital of Madeira is Funchal , located on the main island of south coast.

Read moreMadeira


The Azores ( / ə z ɔːr z / ə- ZORZ gold / eɪ z ɔːr z / AY -zorz ; Portuguese : Azores , [ɐsoɾɨʃ] ), Officially the Autonomous Region of the Azores ( Região Autónoma dos Azores ) is one of the two autonomous regions of Portugal . It is an archipelago consisting of nine volcanic islands in the North Atlantic Ocean about 1,360 km (850 mi) west of continentalPortugal , about 1,643 km (1.021 mi) west of Lisbon , in mainland Portugal , about 1,507 km (936 mi) from the African coast, and about 1,925 km (1,196 mi) southeast of Newfoundland , Canada .

Read moreAzores