Alnes lighthouse station
Erected in 1852
The lighthouse was erected as a private lighthouse beacon in 1852, but was closed down as early as 1861. The Director of Lighthouses did not think it was important for shipping. Moreover, the fishermen were unwilling to pay the fees required to operate the lighthouse.
Difficult to get lighthouse keepers
The lighthouse was reopened in 1869 after repeated petitions to the Director of Lighthouses. It was difficult to get people to maintain the light; in 1876 it was therefore decided to employ a permanent lighthouse keeper. A lighthouse keeper's house was built the same year.
Automated in 1982
Today's lighthouse was built in 1937. It is a 18 m high angle iron tower with external cladding. The lighthouse was automated and the keeper left in 1982.
In the summer months, Alnes is a popular destination for tourists and people from the region. In the lighthouse there is a jolly café operated by local people. It is open every day in June, July and August. During March, April, May, September and October, it is open on Sundays.
Alnes has retained the hallmarks of the fishing station, and the built-up area is concentrated on the tongue of land beneath Godøyfjellet. The rest of the promontory has extensive uninterrupted areas of meadow. In the south, a wall divides the infields from the outlying fields; beyond this there are pastures and heathlands. The buildings of the 11 farms still stand as a cluster of farm buildings, which is rather unusual in Norway.
Alnes lighthouse, telephone +47 7018 5090
Sources: Bjørkhaug, Birger og Poulsson, Sven. Norges Fyr, Fra Stad til Grense-Jakobselv, bind 2.
Grøndahl & søn forlag AS, 1987